## MINUTES OF THE 2016 ELECTORAL COLLEGE

Richmond, Virginia December 19, 2016

On November 21, 2016, the State Board of Elections ascertained and determined from the results of the November 8, 2016, General Election that Lashrecse D. Aird of Petersburg, Virginia; James Harold Allen Boyd of Culpeper, Virginia; Debra Stevens Fitzgerald of Harrisonburg, Virginia; Terry C. Frye of Bristol, Virginia; Jasper L. Hendricks, III of Pamplin, Virginia; K. James O'Connor, Jr. of Manassas, Virginia; Vivian J. Paige of Norfolk, Virginia; Virginia L. Peters of Alexandria, Virginia; Bethany J. Rowland of Chesapeake, Virginia; Susan Johnston Rowland of Chesapeake, Virginia; Jeanette C. Sarver of Dublin, Virginia; Keith A. Scarborough of Prince William, Virginia; and Kathy Stewart Shupe of Sterling, Virginia were duly appointed as electors of President and Vice President of the United States for the Commonwealth of Virginia and issued to each a Certificate of Election, so appointing them for the next ensuing regular term of their office.

The College of Electors for President and Vice President of the United States for the Commonwealth of Virginia, on this 19th day of December 2016, met in the Senate Chamber at the State Capitol in the City of Richmond at twelve o'clock noon.

The College was called to order by The Honorable James B. Alcorn of the State Board of Elections. Secretary of the Commonwealth, Kelly Thomasson welcomed the Electors to the Capitol. The Honorable Singleton McAllister called the roll. All 13 duly appointed electors were present. The Honorable Singleton McAllister appointed Omar Edgardo Cortés of Fairfax, Virginia; John Sydnor Hurt of Pittsylvania County, Virginia; William "Campbell" Kreye of Hanover County, Virginia; Catherine "Cate" Mancano of Henrico County, Virginia; and Shea McHenry of Leesburg, Virginia, as pages of the College of Electors.

The Invocation was provided by Tracy Howard, President of the Voter Registrars Association of Virginia, followed by the Pledge of Allegiance by The Honorable Clara Belle Wheeler, Vice Chair of the State Board of Elections.

The Honorable William C. Mims, Justice of the Supreme Court of Virginia, administered the oath prescribed by the Constitution of Virginia to the electors and each elector subscribed to the Oath.

The Honorable Lashrecse Aird of Petersburg, Virginia, was appointed Temporary Presiding Officer. The Honorable Singleton McAllister presented Ms. Aird with prepared minutes of the ceremony and a Virginia Electors Minute Journal Book for the secretary to use, once elected.

The electors adopted an order of business and proceeded to organize the College.

Susan Johnston Rowland of Chesapeake, Virginia, was duly nominated and elected President of the College of Electors; and

Minutes 2016 College of Electors Page 2 of 3

Terry C. Frye of Bristol, Virginia, was duly nominated and elected Secretary of the College of Electors.

The Honorable Lashrecse Aird presented the Secretary with the prepared minutes.

The President announced that it was in order for the electors to proceed to vote by roll call for President of the United States of America for the next ensuing regular term of that office. The Secretary called each elector's name and each elector responded for whom s/he cast his/ her vote. The Secretary counted the votes and gave the report to the President. The President announced that 13 votes were cast for The Honorable Hillary Rodham Clinton of the State of New York, and no other person received a vote.

The President then announced that it was in order for the electors to vote by roll call for Vice President of the United States of America for the next ensuing regular term of that office. The Secretary called each elector's name and each elector responded for whom s/he cast his/ her vote. The Secretary counted the votes and gave the report to the President. The President announced that 13 votes were cast for The Honorable Tim Kaine of the Commonwealth of Virginia, and no other person received a vote.

The College of Electors proceeded to certify the said votes for President and Vice President in accordance with the requirements of the Constitution of the United States and the provisions of the United States Code and the Code of Virginia.

As required by law, six certificates were prepared and signed by each of the 13 electors. The electors signed two additional certificates for the Library of Virginia and State Board of Elections to keep in their records. The Secretary was directed to seal in each of six envelopes a Certificate of Vote and a Certificate of Ascertainment of the electors executed by Governor Terrence R. McAuliffe.

The Secretary of the State Board of Elections was directed to distribute four of the sealed envelopes as follows:

**One** to the Honorable Joseph "Joe" Biden, President of the Senate of the United States.

**One** to the Honorable Rebecca Beach Smith, Judge of the United States District Court for the Eastern District of Virginia.

**Two** to David Ferriero, Archivist of the United States.

As required by law, the President presented two envelopes to The Honorable Kelly Thomasson, Secretary of the Commonwealth of Virginia, who appeared in person.

Minutes 2016 College of Electors Page 3 of 3

A seventh certificate was presented to Dr. Sandra G. Treadway, Librarian of Virginia, who appeared in person. An eighth certificate was presented to The Honorable James B. Alcorn, Chair of the State Board of Elections.

The pages distributed the minutes for the electors to read. The electors read, approved, signed and witnessed the minutes.

No further business being before the Electors, the College was adjourned. President of the 2016 College of Electors Secretary of the 2016 College of Electors IN WITNESS: